Find all banks micr codes and bank branch in India. Here it is very easy to get the list of banks and those MICR Codes by regional centres. You can search 1,18,780+ MICR Codes of 435+ banks across India that inclues gramin banks, RRBs, Public banks, foriegn banks, co-operative banks, scheduled banks and Private banks. If you want, you can check IFSC Codes at



In oder to check the MICR code, simple click on the regional centre there after click on the bank for which you are looking for MICR Code.

What is a MICR Code?
MICR means Magnetic Ink Character Recognition which is a character-recognition technology used mainly by the banking industry to ease the processing and clearance of cheques and other documents. MICR code has 9 digits and is printed on cheques to facilitate and expedite clearance in banking system. Format of MICR is as follow, first three digits are City Code, second three digits are bank code and last three are branch code

Example: MICR -396002068
City - 396 , Bank - 002, Branch - 068

Literally MICR has got to nerves to many folks out there where they have come up some weird names! But MICR in fact means – Magnetic Ink Character Recognition! 

Have you ever wondered how would the numbers printed on the bottom of the cheque leaves be crucial to clear the cheques? Never right?! So let us have a quick ride through the mysterious MICR... 

  • MICR first came to life in the year 1980 in India.
  • This brought about significant changes while clearing the cheques as they could now be done at a much faster pace than the bygone days that too ONLINE!
  • MICR is also used as a Security measure to shield the transactions from the prying eyes.
  • Finally, this is the essence for the online money transfers.
MICR’s worth:
  • Humans are well known for the mistakes they make, they can never be impeccably straight!
  • But machines seldom make the mistakes...
  • In the earlier days, there were a lot of delays at times due to the manual check of the Cheques but with MICR, the delays and errors have reduced.
  • The MICR code is usually printed with a peculiar ink, which is iron oxide.
  • It can be read by the machine even if the print no longer exists.
  • This is because of the stamps and various marks on the cheque leaves.
  • As per the Reserve Bank of India’s (RBI) report, all the banks have and will have a unique code to better the facilities especially while clearing the Cheques.
  • Thereby cutting down on the manual processes.
  • MICR also helps the RBI to clear the cheques at a great speed.
Other uses:

MICR is also put into use when the Employer gives a large chunk of salary at one go or when you file the Income Tax Returns.

Spot the MICR - Magnetic Ink Character Recognition:
  • MICR is a nine digit number and is printed at the foot of the Cheque leaves.
  • It is a numerical code that locates the bank - branch.
  • If you are unable to figure out the MICR codes then you can check them on the Reserve Bank of India’s web site...
The Digits and the Mysteries Unravelled:
  • The first 3 numbers portray the city.
  • Moving on, the next 3 numbers tell us about the bank.
  • Last but not the least; the last 3 numbers represent the Bank - Branch!

So with this knowledge even a lay person can comprehend the techniques used by the Banks. So be happy the next time you are about to receive those bundles of money!!!

Magnetic Ink Character Recognition (MICR) technology was for the first time introduced in India in the late eighties at the four major metropolitan cities of Mumbai, Chennai, Delhi and Calcutta. These centres were set up and are managed by the Reserve Bank of India.Read more

IFSC Code : IFSC stands for Indian Financial System Code and is used for online money or payment trasnfer through RTGS, NEFT ECS process operated by Reserve Bank of India (RBI). Code has 11 alpha numeric characters. First four characters represent bank and last six characters represent bank branch. Fifth character is not used at present and reserved for future use.

RTGS : RTGS means Real Time Gross Settlement. It is online money / fund transfer process used to transfer money from one bank account to another. Money is transferred in real time. Minimum amount that can be transferred throug RTGS is Rs 2,00,000.

NEFT : NEFT means National Electronic Fund Transfer. It is online money / fund transfer system operated by RBI. NEFT is usaully used for transferring fund amount less than Rs 2,00,000.

Online payment throgh e-banking:
Now-a-days, the world became a small village due to internet. We can buy/purchase things/items from different parts of the world like if we are from India we can buy Apple Iphone from US through online shopping and you can make payment also online. IFSC is used for online banking. Online mode of payments such as insurance premium payments, Mobile bill payments, Electricity bills, Water bills, Bus tickes, Train ticket and flight ticket booking, online shopping payment, loan emi payments, stock exchange online Share/equity/commodities Trading a/c Fund Transfer, purchasing mutual funds, bonds, buying digital gold, paytm transactions. domain renewals, purchasing cloths online like myntra, Flipkart, amazon, jabong where you need to add IFSC at the time when you wish to refund money to your bank account.
MICR | IFSC is free online tool to search and find IFS Code, MICR Code, Branch Address, Telephone Number, Contact Details of branches of Banks in India (SBI, ICICI, HDFC, Union Bank, Punjab National Bank and other banks) for doing Online NEFT, RTGS, ECS transaction. Here you can find the information about 430+ banks which includes private banks, nationised banks, public banks, schedule banks, gramina banks and co-operative banks, RRBs etc.